Rugby League

Please Select your Language

Rugby League

Digicel TV is the exclusive and official broadcaster of a series of National Rugby Leagues across the south Pacific. We produce and broadcast Digicel Cup and Intrust Super Cup in Papua New Guinea; with exclusive rights to TVWAN, TVWAN Action, TVWAN + channels, HBO, Discovery and Fox Channels


The National Rugby League (NRL) is a league of professional men's rugby league teams in Australia. Run by the Australian Rugby League Commission, the NRL's main competition is known as the Telstra Premiership due to sponsorship from Telstra and is contested by sixteen teams, fifteen of which are based in Australia with one based in New Zealand. It is the most viewed and attended rugby league club competition in the world.


The Queensland Cup is the top level of rugby league competition in Queensland, Australia. Run by the Queensland Rugby League (QRL), the competition is known as the Intrust Super Cup due to sponsorship and is contested by fourteen teams, twelve of which are based in Queensland, with one based in New South Wales and one in Papua

New Guinea. 

The competition is the present-day embodiment of Queensland's top-level club competition. It replaced the Winfield State League in 1996 and accompanied the Brisbane Rugby League, before becoming the premier competition in 1998, following the disbanding of the Brisbane Rugby League.


The Papua New Guinea Hunters currently the (SP PNG Hunters) are a professional rugby league football club based in Papua New Guinea. They were formed in 2013 to compete in the Queensland Rugby League's  I ntrust Super Cup, a second tier of rugby league competition in Queensland, Australia. 

The Hunters are the second Papua New Guinean side to enter the Intrust Super Cup following the Port Moresby Vipers who competed for two seasons in 1996 and 1997.  The Hunters' home ground is the National Football Stadium in Port Moresby. The Hunters won the Intrust Super Cup in Queensland in 2017.


Digicel Cup is a semi-professional rugby league competition otherwise known as the Papua New Guinea National Rugby League Competition PNGNRL Digicel Cup due to Digicel Telecommunications being the major sponsor to this competition since 2011.  Formerly known as the SP Inter-City Cup or SP Cup (1990–2008) and later the Bemobile Cup (2009–2010). The current competition is sponsored by pacific telecommunications giant Digicel is now known as the Digicel Cup hosting 10 clubs competing throughout PNG. 

Digicel Cup Premierships

Bintangor Goroka Lahanis defeated Agmark Rabaul Gurias  20-10

Agmark Rabaul Gurias defeated Mendi Muruks 14-10

Port Moresby Vipers defeated Bintangor Goroka Lahanis 36-14

Hela Wigmen defeated Agmark Rabaul Gurias 34-8

Agmark Rabaul Gurias defeated TNA Simbu Lions 26-18

Lae Snax Tigers defatted Agmark Rabaul Gurias 14-8

Lae Snax Tigers defeated Agmark Rabaul Gurias 11-10

Bintangor Goroka Lahanis defeated Enga Mioks 10-6

Lae Snax Tigers defeated Hela Wigmen 15-4

Rugby League